top of page

Monster Hunter World: Ecosystem


Never in my life has more Monster Hunter been a bad thing. I swear I put over 200 hours in 4u alone, then went straight into generations, and I have a feeling World will have way more. This is part 2 of this 'blog series' if you haven't read any of them, I recommend at least reading the first section of part 1. But I'll link part 1 here and part 2 over here.

Now the major change from Monster Hunter 4 to World is, well the world, it’s been opened. The ecosystem is living and free; it just blows my mind. There are so many little animals crawling around, swimming in little puddles or flying through the air. It really looks less like a zoo and more like a real ecosystem.

Those who don't know, in Monster Hunter, you need to gather plants, insects, fish, small animals, all types of things, so you can craft potions, items, armor, weapons, charms, and other equipment. Other than the fish, you never saw what you were getting, you just saw the prompt to 'use the bug net' and you would randomly gather a creature, and even with fish, you don't always know exactly what type you're getting.

Now, you know exactly what your collecting, because you can see it before you grab it. I normally never cared about my item pouch being full of useless bugs, but it is nice to know that I don't have to waste bug nets just hoping I might get a 'God-Beetle' again.

I love that a lot of the environmental items you can pick up can now be used. Either it’s a stone/nut that can be shot out of the slinger, or it’s an animal/plant that can be used as a direct attack. It makes the environment so much more alive, to physically see the 'Paratoad' jump around. Then to hit it and watch it shoot out gas that paralyzes anything near it. Its works both mechanically with the hunt and ascetically, building the odd world these creatures inhabit.

It’s so cool to watch the monster interact. Watching them fall into other territories and fight with each other. Or to see a pack of Jagras chase down and kill an Aptonoth. It feels like your moving around in an actual world, not a set piece for a battle.

So, I do have to talk about the downside, and yes, there are multiple. I think the largest one is simply how much is going on behind the scenes and how it slows the system's performance. Now, I'm not a master at stuff like this, but I know people who are and how much time and effort they put into this game, and having the frame-rate drop is so jarring and can really affect a skill-based action game. I hope you can lock the frame rate or drop the graphics down. It sucks because the games look gorgeous and I'd hate to have it mess up in the middle of a battle.

For most people, everything in this game that puts you from the monster is a pointless obstacle. I really disagree with that fact, its why I think the arena battles are so lame. Yet, I do agree that maybe too much is happening. So many animals and bugs moving around, its distracting. I don't care if a new monster walks in, I'm battling a larger more important creature, don't take the camera off me. (The camera became an issue several times.) I really think it could be lessened or at least more varied. Some days have lots of creatures out, some days have very few.

This might sound dumb, but it does bother me. With so much going on, it clutters the maps and also can make the area feel like too much is happening. I know its minor and I know you can edit the HUD, but it just feels like so much is being shoved in, the screen gets all cluttered. I think they could do better with some of the UI in the game showing off the environment, but that might be something for next time.

So that's my quick ecosystem rant. I feel like I could talk more, but I think the game will need to drop before I do. I'm really excited for this game if you can't tell by the fact I've been only posting about it this month. Let me know if you agree or disagree with any of this. As always comment down if you have anything to say, I love talking to you guys. Seeya next time.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page